Apagard Royal Nano-Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste, 135 g
Reader ratings
The strongest paste from Sangi, which made the first hydroxyapatite toothpaste in 1980. No fluoride, but a Japan-only import at about $38, and its 16 ingredients include SLS, saccharin and an unnamed flavor.
Best for People who want the nano-hydroxyapatite paste with the longest track record, from the company that started the category, and who do not get mouth ulcers from SLS.
- Our quality rating
- Fair (3 of 5)
- Price range
- Premium
- Size
- 135 g (4.8 oz) tube; Sangi also makes 80 g and 40 g
- Made in
- Made in Japan. Sangi marks Royal “Domestic market only,” so US sellers are importers.
approx. $38 for a 135 g (4.8 oz) tube
See it on Sangi’s site →We are not affiliated with Sangi. This link goes to the maker’s own page, with no tracking code. How we're funded.
Reader ratings & reviews
– out of 5
Loading ratings…
Rating breakdown
- 5 stars 0
- 4 stars 0
- 3 stars 0
- 2 stars 0
- 1 star 0
Have this product? Please rate it.
Check your email
We sent a sign-in link to . Click it and you’ll come straight back here, signed in. It expires in 15 minutes; check your spam folder if it doesn’t show up. Thank you for helping the community!
Your review
Reviews are personal experiences, not research, and they never change our quality ratings. Every review is read by our team before it appears.
How we evaluated it
Why we chose it What put it on our list
- Sangi launched the first hydroxyapatite toothpaste, Apadent, in 1980 and Apagard in 1985. Japan approved Sangi’s hydroxyapatite as an anticaries active ingredient, “Medical Hydroxyapatite,” in 1993, and Sangi made it nano-sized in 2003 (Sangi’s milestones page).
- Sangi calls Royal the top of the Apagard range, with the highest nano-hydroxyapatite content of its pastes.
- It has no fluoride, and Sangi’s page lists all 16 ingredients.
Trade-offs What to weigh before you buy
- Sangi does not state the hydroxyapatite percentage, so you cannot compare it with pastes that state 10%.
- The list is long for a toothpaste. It contains sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS), which can set off mouth ulcers in people prone to them, sodium saccharin, an unnamed flavor (“aroma”), PEG-8, PVP and cetylpyridinium chloride, an antiseptic.
- Royal is sold only in Japan. US buyers get it from importers, at three to four times the price of most pastes here, and Sangi does not stand behind those sales.
- We found no independent test of this paste.
What to know Details worth knowing first
Sangi, a Japanese company, put the first hydroxyapatite toothpaste on sale in 1980, and Japan approved its hydroxyapatite as an anticaries ingredient in 1993. Royal is the top of its Apagard line, with the most nano-hydroxyapatite of its pastes and no fluoride. Our nano-hydroxyapatite guide covers what the research shows for this kind of paste.
Two things keep it from a higher rating. The label is long and includes SLS, saccharin and an unnamed flavor, where the simplest pastes here have none of them, and Sangi does not say how much hydroxyapatite is in it. It is also sold only in Japan, so in the US you buy it from importers at about $38 a tube.
Quality & testing How it measures up against our checklist
| What we checked | What we found |
|---|---|
| Fluoride-free, with an active ingredient that has evidence Maker’s claim | Nano hydroxyapatite (Sangi’s “nano mHAP”), the form Japan approved as an anticaries active in 1993 and Sangi made nano in 2003. No fluoride. The percentage is not stated. |
| Every ingredient listed Maker’s claim | Sangi lists 16 ingredients: aqua, dicalcium phosphate, silica, glycerin, hydroxyapatite (nano), PEG-8, PVP, glycyrrhetinic acid, cetylpyridinium chloride, sodium lauryl sulfate, cellulose gum, aroma, sodium saccharin, trimagnesium phosphate, hydrolyzed conchiolin protein and lauryl diethylenediaminoglycine HCl. The flavor (“aroma”) is not broken down. |
| Gentle formulas Maker’s claim | Contains SLS, saccharin and an antiseptic (cetylpyridinium chloride). Not the pick if SLS gives you mouth ulcers. |
| Independent testing Not verified | None found for this paste. |
What the labels mean
- Verified We opened an independent record that confirms it: a certifier’s listing, a regulator’s list or a lab report. It is linked under Sources.
- Maker’s claim The maker says so on its own page or label. We read it but found no independent record.
- Not verified We looked and could not confirm it, or the maker does not say. Treat it as unknown.
Sources Where our facts come from
- Sangi: Apagard Royal product page. Maker’s page. The ingredient list, sizes, “Domestic market only,” “highest nano mHAP content” and “No fluoride.” Open ↗
- Sangi: milestones. Maker’s page. Apadent (1980), Apagard (1985), approval of Medical Hydroxyapatite as an anticaries active in Japan (1993), nano size (2003). Open ↗
- Japanese Taste: Sangi Apagard Royal 135 g. Independent source. $38, in stock on 2026-10-22. Open ↗
- Amazon: Apagard Tooth Polish Royal 135 g. Independent source. $39 on 2026-10-22, sold by SamesShop and shipped by Amazon. Open ↗
Where to buy Other stores and the prices we saw
- Japanese Taste approx. $38. An online shop for Japanese products; listed in stock on 2026-10-22.
- Amazon approx. $39. Sold by an importer (SamesShop), not by Sangi, and shipped by Amazon. Check that the tube arrives sealed.
Prices as we saw them on October 22, 2026. They change often. These links carry no tracking code and earn us nothing.
Alternatives Other options to compare
- Dr. Jen’s Fluoride-Free 10% Nano-Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste States 10% nano-hydroxyapatite and has no SLS. About $18.50.
- RiseWell Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste States 10% hydroxyapatite (micro), cleans with a soap instead of SLS, and costs about $12.