Boka Ela Mint Nano-hydroxyapatite Toothpaste
Reader ratings
A fluoride-free, SLS-free paste that names nano-hydroxyapatite and every other ingredient, for about $11.62. Boka does not say how much hydroxyapatite it contains, so we cannot compare it with the 10% pastes. We are asking.
Best for People who want an inexpensive, widely sold fluoride-free paste with a fully named label and accept that the hydroxyapatite strength is unknown.
- Our quality rating
- Fair (3 of 5)
- Price range
- Mid-range
- Size
- 4 oz tube (two tubes about $21.99, three about $31.99)
approx. $11.62 for a 4 oz tube
See it on Boka’s site →We are not affiliated with Boka. This link goes to the maker’s own page, with no tracking code. How we're funded.
Reader ratings & reviews
– out of 5
Loading ratings…
Rating breakdown
- 5 stars 0
- 4 stars 0
- 3 stars 0
- 2 stars 0
- 1 star 0
Have this product? Please rate it.
Check your email
We sent a sign-in link to . Click it and you’ll come straight back here, signed in. It expires in 15 minutes; check your spam folder if it doesn’t show up. Thank you for helping the community!
Your review
Reviews are personal experiences, not research, and they never change our quality ratings. Every review is read by our team before it appears.
How we evaluated it
Why we chose it What put it on our list
- The product page names 26 ingredients, including each mint and spice oil, and says the paste is nano-hydroxyapatite, fluoride-free, SLS-free, vegan and free of parabens and artificial colors.
- The cleanser is sodium lauroyl sarcosinate, not sodium lauryl sulfate. The sweeteners include xylitol, sorbitol and stevia leaf extract.
- It costs about $11.62 for 4 oz, against about $18.50 for Dr. Jen’s fluoride-free paste.
- The product page shows a 4.8 rating from 3,903 reviews. That is the maker’s own store and is not independent.
Trade-offs What to weigh before you buy
- Boka does not state the hydroxyapatite percentage on the product page or in its brand-comparison guide. Our nano-hydroxyapatite guide says to look for 10% or more, and the in situ study it cites used 10%.
- Hydroxyapatite is listed sixth, after water, glycerin, two silicas and sorbitol. The order alone does not tell us the percentage.
- We found no trial or outside test of this paste. The ingredient list on the page ends mid-footnote at “*Nano”, which looks like a page error, so the form is not fully explained either.
- It has no fluoride. If you get cavities often, talk to a dentist before switching.
What to know Details worth knowing first
Boka is one of the best-known nano-hydroxyapatite toothpastes, and our nano-hydroxyapatite guide names it. Ela Mint is its mint paste: fluoride-free, SLS-free, with a 26-item label that names every oil and sweetener. At about $11.62 for 4 oz it is also one of the cheaper ways to try the idea.
The gap is the number. Our guide says to look for 10% or more, and Boka does not say how much is in the tube, on the product page or in its own comparison guide. Without that, we cannot tell whether the paste matches the research, so the claims about its strength stay marked “Not verified”.
We are asking Boka for the percentage and the form of the hydroxyapatite, as the notice above says. The rest of the label is in good shape.
Quality & testing How it measures up against our checklist
| What we checked | What we found |
|---|---|
| An active ingredient with evidence Not verified | Nano-hydroxyapatite, concentration not stated. No fluoride. We found no trial of this paste. |
| Every ingredient listed Maker’s claim | All 26 ingredients are named, including each oil. The footnote after the list is cut off at “*Nano”. |
| Gentle formulas Maker’s claim | SLS-free. The cleanser is sodium lauroyl sarcosinate. It contains peppermint, spearmint, anise and wintergreen oils and menthol. |
| Honest claims Maker’s claim | The page describes nano-hydroxyapatite as “a biomimetic mineral” with “a wide variety of potential benefits”. The description makes no explicit cavity claim for this paste. |
| No triclosan or artificial dyes Maker’s claim | Neither is listed, and the maker says no artificial colors. |
| Independent testing Not verified | None found for the toothpaste. In a 2024 consumer lab screen of floss, Boka’s Ela Mint Floss had no detectable organic fluorine, but that is a different product. |
What the labels mean
- Verified We opened an independent record that confirms it: a certifier’s listing, a regulator’s list or a lab report. It is linked under Sources.
- Maker’s claim The maker says so on its own page or label. We read it but found no independent record.
- Not verified We looked and could not confirm it, or the maker does not say. Treat it as unknown.
Sources Where our facts come from
- Boka Ela Mint Nano-hydroxyapatite Toothpaste: product page. Maker’s page. Ingredients, price, size and claims, seen 2026-10-22. Open ↗
- Boka: Hydroxyapatite Brands Compared. Maker’s page. Tells readers to check whether a brand specifies nano and to read the full list. It gives no percentage for Boka. Open ↗
- Mamavation and Environmental Health News: 39 dental floss products screened for organic fluorine (August 2024). Test report. Covers Boka’s floss, not its toothpaste. An advocacy outlet’s screen at an EPA-certified lab for total organic fluorine, a PFAS marker. Open ↗
Alternatives Other options to compare
- Dr. Jen’s Fluoride-Free 10% Nano-Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste States 10% nano. About $18.50.
- RiseWell Hydroxyapatite Toothpaste States 10% micro-hydroxyapatite. About $12.