Products · Saunas · Sun Home Saunas

Sun Home Nova 3-Person Indoor Traditional Sauna

Reader ratings
Sun Home Nova 3-Person Indoor Traditional Sauna

A new indoor sauna with a HUUM DROP stone heater (maker: up to 230 °F), a Japanese cedar interior and a model-named ETL listing. Sun Home publishes lab tests of cabin air and adhesive, but not for the Nova. We are asking for one.

Best for People who want a traditional indoor sauna, value published test data, and accept a new model from a young company.

Our quality rating
Fair (3 of 5)
Price range
Premium
Verified marks
ETL Listed to UL 875 and CSA C22.2 No. 164 (Sun Home Nova sauna room)
Size
Indoor cabin for 3, 64.9 in wide; hard-wired 240 V on a 30 A circuit; cabin ships as one crate and the heater, controller and stones ship separately

approx. $11,999 with a 6 kW HUUM DROP heater

See it on Sun Home Saunas’s site →

We are not affiliated with Sun Home Saunas. This link goes to the maker’s own page, with no tracking code. How we're funded.

– out of 5

Loading ratings…

Have this product? Please rate it.

    Reviews are personal experiences, not research, and they never change our quality ratings. Every review is read by our team before it appears.

    Why we chose it What put it on our list 5 points
    • Traditional heat. The 6 kW HUUM DROP heater warms a bed of stones for water-on-stones steam, and the maker lists a maximum of 230 °F (110 °C). The Finnish studies on our heat therapy page used about 80 °C.
    • The ETL listing names the model. Intertek’s directory lists Sun Home Saunas rooms “Sun Home Nova”, Eclipse, Pod, Luminar and others to UL 875 and CSA C22.2 No. 164.
    • Sun Home publishes lab reports, though none is for the Nova. An Applied Technical Services report (no. 486424, June 18, 2026) found no formaldehyde (below 3.0 ppm) and no benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene or xylenes (below 0.001% by weight) in a water-based cabin adhesive. A VERT Environmental report (inspection April 2, 2026, analyzed by an AIHA-accredited lab) measured 27 µg/m³ total VOCs in one Sun Home sauna.
    • Japanese cedar lines the walls. Sun Home’s testing page says its saunas are solid wood with no plywood, particleboard or MDF, but it does not name the Nova.
    • A search of the CPSC recall database on 2026-10-22 found no recall naming Sun Home or HUUM.
    Trade-offs What to weigh before you buy 4 points
    • The Nova is new; Sun Home calls it its first indoor traditional sauna. The adhesive and air reports do not name the Nova. The air report is one sample from one unnamed sauna, taken at a private home after chemical odors had been reported, and it gives neither the model nor the cabin temperature.
    • Sun Home began in 2021. Its BBB profile (read 2026-10-22) shows an A+ rating, accreditation since December 2025 and 13 complaints in three years, and includes a customer review of a sauna, model not stated, that produced a bang, a spark and smoke. We could not verify any of this ourselves.
    • It costs about $12,000 (shown as marked down from $12,499 on 2026-10-22) plus an electrician for a dedicated 240 V, 30 A circuit.
    • “Limited lifetime” means seven years in Sun Home’s terms. For the Nova it covers cabinetry, with 1 year on the fan and light controls and on LED lighting, parts only after the first 90 days, and it ends if ownership changes. HUUM’s warranty covers the heater body and controls for 3 years and excludes the heating elements.
    What to know Details worth knowing first

    Of the sauna makers we checked, Sun Home publishes the most test evidence: the lab names, report numbers and the PDFs. That is unusual in a market full of “non-toxic” and “low EMF” claims with nothing behind them. We opened the adhesive report and the cabin-air report and they say what Sun Home says they say.

    The limit is scope. Neither report names the Nova, which is new, and the air test is one sample from one sauna at a private home. The ETL listing does name the Nova, and the heater is a HUUM DROP that the maker rates to 230 °F, hot enough for the kind of session the Finnish studies on our heat therapy page used.

    Sun Home is also a young company, and a BBB customer review describes a sauna, model not stated, that sparked and smoked. We are asking it for a cabin-air test on a Nova, as the notice above says. Other Sun Home pages make detox claims for its infrared saunas; the Nova page does not (see our detox page). Ask a doctor first if you have a heart condition or are pregnant.

    Quality & testing How it measures up against our checklist Fair, 3 of 5 · 8 checks
    Quality rating Fair

    An editorial rating of how well it meets our criteria for saunas, given what we could verify. We only list products rated 3 or above.

    Tested by
    Intertek (ETL listing names the Nova)
    How Sun Home Nova 3-Person Indoor Traditional Sauna measures up against our saunas criteria
    What we checked What we found
    Heat that matches the research Maker’s claim HUUM DROP 6 kW heater with stones, maximum temperature 230 °F (110 °C) per the maker. We have no measured cabin temperatures. The maker says a traditional sauna takes about an hour to heat.
    Untreated, low-odor wood Maker’s claim Japanese cedar interior, held with stainless steel fasteners in a double-wall insulated cabin. Sun Home’s testing page says its line avoids plywood, particleboard and MDF and uses a water-based adhesive with no detectable formaldehyde (ATS report 486424), without naming the Nova. The insulation and the Nova’s exterior materials are not named.
    Safety certification Verified “Sun Home Nova” appears by name, as a “Sauna Room”, in two Sun Home Saunas listings in Intertek’s ETL directory (UL 875 and CSA C22.2 No. 164). The listings show no certificate number or date. The HUUM DROP heater has its own listing, which we did not open (HUUM’s certificates page says “SGS Listed” without naming models).
    Independent testing of cabin air and adhesive Not verified Sun Home publishes an ATS adhesive report (formaldehyde and BTEX not detected) and a VERT cabin-air report (27 µg/m³ total VOCs in one sample taken April 2, 2026), and we opened both. Neither names the Nova, and the air report is a single sample from a private home where chemical odors had been reported. There is no Nova-specific test.
    Materials that hold up to heat Maker’s claim Not a tent or blanket. A cedar cabin with stainless steel fasteners and black privacy glass, as described by the maker.
    Electric and magnetic field claims Maker’s claim The Nova page makes no EMF claim. Sun Home’s EMF test (Vitatech, report VTE-3534) covers its infrared heaters.
    Marketing claims Maker’s claim The Nova page makes no detox, weight-loss or calorie claims. Other Sun Home pages do for infrared (for example “The classic detox”), and the site sells a “Deep Detox Bundle”.
    Recalls Verified A search of the US Consumer Product Safety Commission recall database on 2026-10-22 found no recall naming Sun Home or HUUM.
    What the labels mean
    • Verified We opened an independent record that confirms it: a certifier’s listing, a regulator’s list or a lab report. It is linked under Sources.
    • Maker’s claim The maker says so on its own page or label. We read it but found no independent record.
    • Not verified We looked and could not confirm it, or the maker does not say. Treat it as unknown.
    Sources Where our facts come from 9 sources
    1. Sun Home Nova 3-Person Indoor Traditional Sauna: maker’s product page. Maker’s page. Price, heater, wood, 230 °F maximum and electrical needs, seen 2026-10-22. Open ↗
    2. Sun Home Saunas: EMF, VOC and safety testing. Maker’s page. Sun Home’s summary of its lab reports and materials. It says the 27 µg/m³ figure reflects the tested unit under the reported conditions. Open ↗
    3. Applied Technical Services report 486424: water-based adhesive (June 18, 2026). Test report. Formaldehyde not detected (below 3.0 ppm); benzene, toluene, ethylbenzene and xylenes not detected (below 0.001% by weight). Open ↗
    4. VERT Environmental air quality inspection report (April 14, 2026). Test report. One cabin-air sample, EPA Method TO-15, 27 µg/m³ total, analyzed by LA Testing. The report says the visit followed reported chemical odors at a private home. Open ↗
    5. Intertek ETL directory: Sun Home Saunas, Electric Dry Bath Heater (UL 875). Certifier or regulator listing. Lists Sun Home Eclipse 2 and 4, Pod, Luminar 2 and 5, Zenith, Solara and Nova. Open ↗
    6. Intertek ETL directory: Sun Home Saunas, Electric Sauna Heating Equipment (CAN/CSA-C22.2 No. 164). Certifier or regulator listing. The Canadian sister listing, with the same model names. Open ↗
    7. Sun Home Saunas warranty information. Maker’s page. Open ↗
    8. Better Business Bureau profile: Sun Home Saunas. Independent source. A+, accredited since 2025-12-09, 13 complaints in 3 years, business started 2021-04-27, 70 reviews, as shown on 2026-10-22. Open ↗
    9. CPSC recall search (saferproducts.gov): Sun Home. Certifier or regulator listing. Returns an empty list. A search for HUUM also returns an empty list. Open ↗
    Alternatives Other options to compare 3 options

    Weekly research digest

    New topics and updated research, once a week when there's something new. How it works