Products · Omega-3 & fish oil · Carlson
Carlson Elite Omega-3 Gems
Reader ratings
A high-strength fish oil (1,400 mg of EPA plus DHA in two softgels) listed in the IFOS fish oil registry. That is well above our general-health dose, and the oil’s form is not stated.
Best for People who have a reason to take a higher EPA and DHA dose, ideally on a clinician’s advice, and want a fish oil with outside purity testing behind it.
- Our quality rating
- Good (4 of 5)
- Verified marks
- Listed in the IFOS fish oil program: lot SB017377, TOTOX 17.74 (IFOS limit 19.5)
- Size
- Softgels in 60 to 240 counts; two a day
approx. $28 and up
See it on Carlson’s site →We are not affiliated with Carlson. This link goes to the maker’s own page, with no tracking code. How we're funded.
Reader ratings & reviews
– out of 5
Loading ratings…
Rating breakdown
- 5 stars 0
- 4 stars 0
- 3 stars 0
- 2 stars 0
- 1 star 0
Have this product? Please rate it.
Check your email
We sent a sign-in link to . Click it and you’ll come straight back here, signed in. It expires in 15 minutes; check your spam folder if it doesn’t show up. Thank you for helping the community!
Your review
Reviews are personal experiences, not research, and they never change our quality ratings. Every review is read by our team before it appears.
How we evaluated it
Why we chose it What put it on our list
- IFOS lists the product. Nutrasource’s IFOS registry has a page for Carlson Elite Omega-3 Gems, with lot SB017377 (expires 30 June 2028). We opened the IFOS report for that lot: 422 mg EPA and 330 mg DHA a softgel, TOTOX 17.74 (IFOS limit 19.5) and mercury below 0.0124 ppm. IFOS tests fish oils for purity, potency and freshness.
- The label gives the numbers that matter: 800 mg EPA and 600 mg DHA per two softgels, not just total omega-3.
- Carlson says every batch is tested by an FDA-registered laboratory for heavy metals, PCBs, dioxins and oxidation markers, and that its fish are primarily anchovies, sardines and mackerel caught by methods certified by Friend of the Sea.
- Carlson says the oil is molecularly distilled and nitrogen flushed.
Trade-offs What to weigh before you buy
- The dose is high. Our sources and dosing guide gives 250 to 500 mg of EPA plus DHA a day for general health. Two softgels here give 1,400 mg, and one softgel halves that.
- Check with a clinician first if you take blood thinners or have atrial fibrillation. See omega-3 and heart health for the evidence.
- The page does not say whether the oil is in triglyceride or ethyl ester form, which affects absorption (see our dosing guide). Carlson sells fish oils in both forms and does not say which this is.
- We read one IFOS lot report. Its TOTOX of 17.74 passes IFOS’s limit of 19.5, but it is higher than the 4.7 to 9.0 in the other lots we read. The page also does not list the softgel ingredients.
What to know Details worth knowing first
Fish oil is a source of EPA and DHA, the two omega-3s most of the research is about. Our guide to sources and dosing puts intake for general health at 250 to 500 mg of EPA plus DHA a day, and notes that the molecular form of the oil changes how well you absorb it.
Carlson’s Elite Omega-3 Gems are a concentrated, lemon-flavored fish oil: 1,400 mg of EPA plus DHA in a two-softgel serving. That is more than most people need for general health, so one softgel a day may be the better place to start unless a clinician has advised more.
What earns it a place here is outside testing. Fish oils can go rancid and can carry contaminants. The IFOS program tests for both and lists certified products by lot. We found this product in the IFOS registry and opened the report for lot SB017377. It meets every IFOS limit. Its oxidation figure (TOTOX 17.74) is within the limit but higher than the other fish oils we read.
Quality & testing How it measures up against our checklist
- Third-party tested
- Yes
- Tested by
- IFOS (Nutrasource)
| What we checked | What we found |
|---|---|
| Independent testing (IFOS listing) Verified | Carlson Elite Omega-3 Gems has a page in Nutrasource’s IFOS registry, listing lot SB017377. We opened IFOS’s report for that lot, which gives the same date (30-Jun-2028) as its expiry. |
| IFOS compliance for this lot Verified | IFOS’s report for lot SB017377 marks every measure as compliant: potency, PCBs, dioxins, oxidation and heavy metals. It shows no star rating, so Carlson’s “five-star” wording is not something we could read in the report. |
| Oxidation (TOTOX) Verified | TOTOX 17.74 in lot SB017377 (peroxide 3.87 meq/kg, anisidine 10). IFOS’s limit is 19.5 and the GOED limit is 26. It passes, but it is higher than the 4.7 to 9.0 in the other lots we read. |
| Stated EPA and DHA Verified | Label: 800 mg EPA and 600 mg DHA per two-softgel serving (1,600 mg total omega-3). IFOS’s report for lot SB017377 gives 422 mg EPA and 330 mg DHA per softgel, against a claim of 400 mg and 300 mg. |
| A named source Maker’s claim | Primarily anchovies, sardines and mackerel, caught by methods certified by Friend of the Sea. Refined at Carlson’s own facility in Norway. |
| Form (triglyceride or ethyl ester) Not verified | Not stated for this product. |
What the labels mean
- Verified We opened an independent record that confirms it: a certifier’s listing, a regulator’s list or a lab report. It is linked under Sources.
- Maker’s claim The maker says so on its own page or label. We read it but found no independent record.
- Not verified We looked and could not confirm it, or the maker does not say. Treat it as unknown.
Sources Where our facts come from
- Carlson Elite Omega-3 Gems product page. Maker’s page. Open ↗
- IFOS registry page: Carlson Elite Omega-3 Gems. Certifier or regulator listing. Lists lot SB017377 with a report link. The report links are built from andi.nutrasource.ca/files/. Open ↗
- IFOS product report, lot SB017377. Test report. Potency, PCBs, dioxins, oxidation values and heavy metals for one lot. Open ↗
- Carlson: the Carlson omega-3 difference. Maker’s page. Open ↗
Alternatives Other options to compare
- Algae-based omega-3 No fish, and mostly DHA. Look for the same IFOS or other lot-level testing.
- Fatty fish twice a week Salmon, sardines and mackerel give EPA and DHA without a capsule.