Red light therapy
Red and near-infrared LED devices with measured output, from handheld to full-body.
What we look for
We look for
- Measured output: irradiance (mW/cm²) at a stated distance, averaged over a stated area and measured with a spectroradiometer, ideally by an independent lab. Solar power meters can read two or more times high.
- Wavelengths the research uses: red around 630 to 670 nm and near-infrared around 810 to 850 nm, stated for the LEDs.
- Regulatory status stated honestly: an FDA 510(k) clearance for a named use is stronger than a registration. Most panels are registered under a code exempt from 510(k), so “FDA Class II” means registered, not cleared.
- Low flicker and eye safety: a flicker measurement, not just a “flicker-free” claim, and eye protection included or recommended.
- A real warranty: at least a year, from a maker you can reach, with the same terms wherever it is sold.
We avoid
- Irradiance figures with no measuring method or distance.
- Claims to treat disease, burn fat or regrow hair, unless the device is cleared for that use.
- “FDA approved” wording on a device that is only registered.
- Makers that also sell EMF-blocking or “harmonizing” products.
Read the research
Know one that fits? Suggest a product
5 products · best rated first
-
Shark (SharkNinja)Shark CryoGlow LED Face Mask (FW312)
A home LED mask with an FDA 510(k) clearance (K242796) for fine lines and wrinkles and for mild-to-moderate acne, a 2-year warranty and built-in eye shields. Clearance rests on bench tests, not a clinical trial. FDA 510(k) K242796 (CryoGlow, product codes OHS and OLP) -
HoogaHooga HG24 Red Light Therapy Lamp
A $45 handheld lamp with 12 dual-chip 660 nm and 850 nm LEDs. Its output is the maker’s figure, there is no flicker data, the beam is narrow, and warranty terms differ between Hooga’s site and Amazon. We are asking Hooga for test data. -
Mito Red LightMito Red Light MitoMAX 2.0
A 36-inch plug-in panel from a maker that shows lab-measured output (about 56 mW/cm² at 6 inches) beside its solar-meter figure. We could not open the lab reports, and flicker and eye protection are not stated. ETL Listed as a horticultural luminaire (UL 1598, UL 8800) -
Mito Red LightMito Red Light MitoMIN 2.0
A small plug-in panel from a maker that shows lab-measured output (about 55 mW/cm² at 6 inches) beside its solar-meter figure. We could not open the lab reports, and flicker and eye protection are not stated. ETL Listed as a horticultural luminaire (UL 1598, UL 8800) -
PlatinumLED Therapy LightsPlatinumLED BIOMAX PRO ULTRA
A large panel with independent-lab output reports at four distances, ETL and Health Canada listings and a 3-year warranty. Its headline irradiance is more than double the lab’s, and its FDA wording needs care. Health Canada Medical Device Licence 115549 (Class II) · ETL/cETL Listed (ES60601-1, CSA C22.2 No. 60601-1)